Mind over matter – training the mind.

meditating

Following my blogs about rationality and introspection, I find myself being brought back to the duality we have under our noses all the time: mind and matter (in our heads or stuff out there).

It seems to me life is largely about negotiating between these two phenomena. Some people are very successful, the world washes over them much of the time, while others are not and life gets them down. Of course I’m not suggesting that we can easily ‘think away’ life’s troubles, but I do think that ‘view’ is a significant constituent of human happiness. Recent research on happiness also found that so long as certain needs are met, levels of happiness do not correlate with levels of wealth or prosperity.

With this is mind, I feel that teaching children to take a little more control of their minds could be as much part of education as understanding maths, science or history. In fact, understanding one’s mental ups and downs a little more scientifically, rather than just falling victim to them is just what I mean. Isn’t it time we helped children understand the causes behind things like everyday stress, conflict and insecurity and provided them with some inner solutions? Just imagine certain children being better equipped to deal with those biggies, a win:win for everyone.

Now, I’m not suggesting we put children through a course in psychology, and teachers need to understand general secular meditation techniques beforehand, certainly care needs to be taken to ensure sessions are a positive experience and never focus on issues that are too close to home for certain children. However, with the right training teachers could make great strides with behaviour, self-esteem and the general mental wellbeing of their pupils. Teachers could give children the opportunity to learn methods of mental concentration and resilience that they could be take with them and use throughout

their lives.

In my next blog (whenever I come up for air from the day job) I’m going to blog about how I learnt about meditation and how it can be brought into the classroom with noticeable effects.

Leave a Reply

